GMP Equalisation Working Group (GMPEWG)


Early in 2019, the Pensions Regulator announced the formation of an industry working group to help pension schemes following the High Court’s ruling on the equalisation of GMPs in October 2018.

The group brings together representatives from across the pensions industry, including from the legal, advisory, actuarial, data and trustees sectors, and is chaired by Geraldine Brassett of the Pensions Administration Standards Association (PASA).  The primary objective of the group is to produce good practice industry guidance to support schemes in preparing for and then implementing GMP equalisation and potentially, for some schemes, conversion.


July 2021 – Introducing the GMPE Administration sub-group

February 2021 – GMPE Tax Guidance

January 2021 – GMPE Working Group update

August 2020 – GMPE Communications Guidance

July 2020 – GMPE Data Guidance

March 2020 – When to Rectify

September 2019 – Guidance focusing on Equalising for the Effects of GMP

July 2019 – Call to Action

June 2019 – Open Letter


Kim Gubler – PASA Board sponsor

Geraldine Brassett – Chair (Capita)

Rebecca Shevill (AXA)

Pete Rennalls (PIC)

Robert Thomas (Law Deb)

Sean Burnard (Law Deb)

Catherine McAllister (Addleshaw Goddard)

Rob Yuille (ABI)

Lynsey Ellis (WTW)

Duncan Buchanan (Hogan Lovells LLP)

David Everett (LCP)

Alan Casey (LCP)

Daniel Gerring (Travers Smith)

Thomas Yorath (AON)

Jason Eshelby (AON)

Akash Rooprai (ITM)

Rebecca Morgan (ITM)

Mark Williams (Buck)

Joe Dabrowski (PLSA)

Tiffany Tsang (PLSA)

Bill Mexson (Siemens)

Data sub-group

Akash Rooprai – Chair (ITM)

Fiona McCartney (Aviva)

Dan Holmes (SAUL)

John Doherty (XPS Admin)

Brendan Doherty (Intellica)

Andy Campbell (Willis Towers Watson)

Sharon Bill (ITM)

Ian Dack (Mercer)

Megan Green (Capita)

Steve Nicholson (Equiniti)

Lucy Cresswell (Barnett Waddingham)

Impacted Transactions sub-group

Lynsey Ellis – Chair (Willis Towers Watson)

Clive Wickenden (Aviva)

Craig Wooton (XPS Pensions)

Heather Bryson (Willis Towers Watson)


Megan Green (Capita)

Tax sub-group

Daniel Gerring – Chair (Travers Smith)

Mark Riordan (Capita)

Kathy Cruse (Willis Towers Watson)

John Wilson (Spence & Partners)

Richard Wyatt (Mercer)

Catherine McAllister (Addleshaw Goddard LLP)

Chris Widdison (Travers Smith LLP)

James Riley (Isio)

Rebecca Shevill (AXA)

Shayala McRae (Lane Clark & Peacock LLP)

Wendy Pitcher (Willis Towers Watson)

Reconciliation & rectification sub-group

Geraldine Brassett – Chair (Capita)

Aled Edwards (Quantum)

Edward Hopkins (SAUL)

Jane Bailey (Willis Towers Watson)

Nathan Jones (ITM)

Andrew Linster (Mercer)

John Docherty (XPS Admin)

Owen McCrea (Barnett Waddingham)

Melissa Stanford (XPS Admin)

Alan Casey (LCP)

Methodology sub-group

Duncan Buchanan – Chair (Hogan Lovells LLP)

Stephen Scholefield (Pinsents)

Julien Smith (Just)

Tony King (Reach)

Tim Smith (Herbert Smith Freehills LLP)

Faith Dickson (Sackers)

Richard Akroyd (Willis Towers Watson)

Paul Charles (Isinglass)

Richard Gibson (Barnett Waddingham)

Rebecca Morgan (ITM)

Felicity Boyce (AON)

Alan Whalley (BCSSS)

Deborah Cooper (Mercer)

Heather Chandler (Shoosmiths)

Mark Riordan (Capita)

Peter Scott (Equiniti)

Alasdair Mayes (LCP)

Rebecca Shevill (AXA)

Communications sub-group

Lou Harris (Chair) (Willis Towers Watson)

Jane Beverley (Law Debenture LLP)

Johanna Clarke (CMS)

Joe Craig (Quietroom)

Tracey Dalman (Capita)

Shaun Gunner (Willis Towers Watson)

Bill Mexson (Siemens)

Katherine Robertson (Siemens)

Mark Williams (Buck)

Kirsty Macdonald (CMS)

Michael Bendall (Mercer)

Samantha Marshall (Mercer)

Admin subgroup

Geraldine Brassett – Capita Pension Solutions

Mark Riordan – Capita Pensions Solutions

Ellie Ingamells – , Capita Pensions Solutions

Malcolm Reynolds – JLT

Stephen Blakesley – Mercer

Karla Bradstock – THPA

Ian Wort – Premier Pensions

Lucy Cresswell – Barnett Waddingham

Jan Manning – Equiniti

Julia Wyatt – Equiniti

Brian Docherty – Hymans

Iain Wilson – XPS

Sarah Allard – Barnett Waddingham

John Doherty – XPS

Kathy Cruse – Willis Towers Watson

Suzanne Dosell – Hymans

Christian Macnab – LCP

Marcus Hines – Equiniti

Elyot Rush – Willis Towers Watson